Twitter

Twitter is not about telling your friends what you had for breakfast. You can, but there is so much more.

It is about creating a knowledge net 140 characters at a time.

Twitter is a free microblogging service that enables its users to send and read messages known as tweets. Tweets are text-based only and cannot exceed 140 characters. Log on to www.twitter.com to register.

I find that participating in Twitter conversations while attending virtual conferences is a great thing.  Speakers are wise to tap into what folks are twittering about–the Backchannel.

I meet folks that are also attending. We strike up conversations, and become friends after the conference.

I don’t tweet alot; maybe once or twice a day, unless an event is going on which begs for more tweeting.

I love reading the tweets of the folks that I follow, and do learn things before I get emails from other sources.

Beginner:

Learning more about Twitter:

Advanced:

Twitter search strategies

Using Twitter in the classroom

Special thanks to Garrett Eastman at Harvard, Joe Kraus at University of Denver, Linden A. Mueller, Sarah Austin and Heather Braum.

About effervescentlibrarian

UX Librarian at Rice University, Houston, Texas.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Twitter

  1. xgravity23 says:

    Hi! Thanks for linking to our ebook! You give some great reasons for using Twitter here. I haven’t been to many conferences, but I’ve loved tweeting them. As a college instructor, I’m interested in how I can leverage the backchannel to raise interest in class (and I teach writing, a subject which requires as much interest-raising as possible!).

Leave a Reply

