That’s in Google Books? Really?!

Much talk has been made about Google Books over the last year. I have poked around some, and even wrote about it last year. But, I continue to be amazed at the scope! Today I needed a classic mathematics paper from 1882, one by Enneper that was originally published in Zeitschrift fur Mathematik und Physik. My library owns the print, but like most of our users, I wanted to get it quickly online.

I usually search¬† Numdam, and Gallica, and if I am looking for a book, Google Books. But, I was in a hurry, and thinking that this was a journal, I didn’t even THINK of looking in Google Books! I hadn’t found it online, so I submitted an ILL request. It is just a normal part of my ILL department’s work process to check in Google Books, so they did, and shot me a link to find it online. And, lo, and behold, my 1882 journal article is in Google Books. It is really amazing. Now, this weekend I must find time to catch up on the old Popular Science issues!

And, I have to think about how our discovery tools work with Google Books.

And, how they might work better in the future!

About effervescentlibrarian

UX Librarian at Rice University, Houston, Texas.
This entry was posted in informationseeking, Math. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

