“Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again”

Well, I dreamt of finding the book Rebecca Rebecca on my high school library shelf- and Candide, and Watership Down, and The Moonstone, and Asimov. It was a reality dream–a trip back to my small bright library, with two levels. Nonfiction was on the ground level, and there were three or four steps that took you up to the fiction. A nice area, with side railing, that allowed you to look back to the nonfiction. There was a librarian there, with a small office by the circulation desk, but I don’t remember ever having much interaction with her. Of course, I had no idea that the reason I found those wonderful books was because she had selected them, and put them there.
Reference was off to the side on the ground level. I remember the bright red writing on Masterplots,masterplots and would have never gotten through senior English without it! I worked 40 hours a week my senior year, long story, so having a little synopsis of the things I was supposed to have read was a godsend that kept me going to class.
The nonfiction found me too – I read of the horrors of sugar,and travels to foreign lands.
Recently Texas schools have been laying off  school librarians. Margaret Atwood had a brilliant quote a couple of days ago:  “The librarian is the key person you don’t want to remove from a school.” She said being able to surf online isn’t a substitute for having a librarian who can handpick and recommend books for students in their early years of reading.”

I agree- Literacy is the key to everything, and a school librarian holds that key close to their heart. We need more school librarians, and libraries around the world.

About effervescentlibrarian

UX Librarian at Rice University, Houston, Texas.
This entry was posted in general librarianship, world literacy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

