CIF: Common Industry Format

I have been generating a lot of reports lately, and it is always an effort to put them in a format that will make the stakeholders want to read them! A new method that I am incorporating is the Common Industry Format: CIF.  Here’s an article about the full version: http://www.idemployee.id.tue.nl/g.w.m.rauterberg/lecturenotes/common-industry-format.pdf Since I always seem to be interested in streamlining things, I am thinking about what parts of these long format could I incorporate to bring consistency to my reports. And here is a nice example of a usability test that used the CIF: http://zing.ncsl.nist.gov/iusr/documents/diarymate_v32.htm  I am going to spend some more time thinking about this, but I think the CIF has some nice features that are worth using each study. I also think making it into a online form, might streamline the report out phase of a study.

About effervescentlibrarian

UX Librarian at Rice University, Houston, Texas.
This entry was posted in ux and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

